Double dose – Blues stars vying to join unique honour list

While both players did not start in the final against Italy, they made their marks after coming on as substitutes in Kiev. Torres replaced future Blue Cesc Fabregas after 75 minutes and netted Spain’s third goal nine minutes later to become the first player to score in two Euro finals after his winner against Germany four years earlier.

Mata then came on for his only appearance at those finals with three minutes left and made the most of his brief cameo as he was set up by Torres shortly afterwards to tap in the final goal in his team’s 4-0 triumph. The goal would prove crucial for Torres as it helped the Chelsea striker win the Golden Boot after adding his assist to the three goals he had scored in the tournament.

There were also European double-winners five years ago as Cristiano Ronaldo and Pepe won Euro 2016 with Portugal after lifting the Champions League with Real Madrid.

Prior to the heroics of Torres and Mata in 2012, you have to go back 24 years to find the previous double-winners from 1988. Playing for PSV Eindhoven under future Chelsea manager Guus Hiddink, Hans van Breukelen, Ronald Koeman, Berry van Aerle and Gerald Vanenburg won the European Cup against Benfica before helping the Netherlands beat the Soviet Union 2-0 in the Euro 1988 final.