Champions League Group Stage Draw: All 32 Teams Learn Their Fate

The group stage draw for the 2019/20 UEFA Champions League has been made, with holders Liverpool, 13-time winners Real Madrid, hopefuls Manchester City, perennial runners-up Juventus, Spanish champions Barcelona among the sides to have learned their fate.

Taking place in Monaco, the draw followed its usual format. The 32 competing teams were split into pots (1-4), with one side from each pot assigned to each of the eight groups (A-H).

Liverpool v Chelsea: UEFA Super Cup

​Liverpool are to meet Napoli in the group for the second year in a row, but will consider their path to the knockout stages a favourable one, with Red Bull Salzburg and Genk.

English champions ​Manchester City have been paired with Shakhtar Donetsk again, as well as Croatia’s Dinamo Zagreb and Champions League debutants Atalanta.

Elsewhere, Real Madrid and Paris Saint-Germain will meet in two heavyweight clashes in Group A, but Galatasaray could threaten to make it tricky for either of them.

Group H promises to be a very competitive one, with Chelsea, Ajax, Valencia and Lille, with any in with a chance of qualifying. But this year’s ‘Group of Death’ is arguably F after Barcelona, Borussia Dortmund and Inter were drawn with Czech minnows Slavia Prague.

Lionel Messi

​2019/20 UEFA Champions League Group Stage Draw
Group A – Paris Saint-Germain, ​Real Madrid, Club Brugge, Galatasaray
Group B – ​Bayern Munich, ​Tottenham Hotspur, Olympiacos, Red Star Belgrade
​Group C – ​Manchester City, Shakhtar Donetsk, Dinamo Zagreb, Atalanta
​Group D – ​Juventus, ​Atletico Madrid, Bayer Leverkusen, Lokomotiv Moscow
​Group E – ​Liverpool, ​Napoli, Red Bull Salzburg, Genk
Group F – ​Barcelona, ​Borussia Dortmund, ​Inter, Slavia Prague
​Group G – Zenit St Petersburg, Benfica, Olympique Lyonnais, RB Leipzig
Group H – ​Chelsea, Ajax, Valencia, Lille

Matchday one will take place on 17/18 September and the round will conclude as usual with matchday six on 10/11 December. The first knockout draw will follow on 16 December.

This season’s final will be played at the Ataturk Olympic Stadium in Istanbul on 30 May 2020.