Four Blues make final shortlist for prestigious UEFA awards

In the player category, N’Golo Kante and Jorginho ensure Chelsea make up two-thirds of the final shortlist, alongside Kevin De Bruyne. The duo were integral to us capturing the biggest prize in European football for the second time in our history, with the Italian going on to add international silverware to a glorious summer.

Meanwhile, Kante was named UEFA’s Player of the Match in both legs of our semi-final victory over Real Madrid, as well as the final in Porto, during which he won more aerial duels than any Chelsea player and registered the highest number of ball recoveries to disrupt City’s passing game.

In the separate UEFA positional awards, a total of eight Blues have made the final cut in their respective categories. They are Edouard Mendy, Cesar Azpilicueta, Toni Rudiger, Kante and Jorginho for the men’s team, and Ann-Katrin Berger, Magda Eriksson and Ji-So Yun for the women’s team.

The award winners will be announced at the draw for the 2021/22 Champions League group stage next Thursday 26 August in Istanbul.